July 11, 2022 |

Life is what you make it. Communities are the same way. Acknowledging this basic fact of life, Rawlins City Council recently began honoring residents who go out of their way in volunteering to make the city a better place to live.

Jason Sehon said he was “extra excited” to present the award for July. Sehon is the city’s Parks and Recreation Director. In presenting this month’s Community Builder Award to the Shooting Range Advisory Board, Sehon admitted that he could not mention or perhaps even remember all that the members had done to create an indoor shooting range recognized around the region as being second to none.

Pictured above: File photo of Rawlins City Hall. Photo by Cali O’Hare/Bigfoot 99.

The board was also involved with developing the master plan that Sehon was the “road map” for building the outdoor range, which he described as a “beautiful facility.”

The city presents the award to local businesses, individuals and organizations for their volunteer service, sponsorships, promotion of programs and events, outstanding service in the interests of the city and other contributions to enhance the quality of life in Rawlins.

The nine-member board includes:
1. Todd Canaday, Secretary (June 30, 2022)
2. Chris Iacovetto, President (June 30, 2022)
3. James Shearer (June 30, 2024)
4. Brent Wilkes, Vice President (June 30, 2023)
5. Roger Epp (June 30, 2022)
6. James Ainsworth (June 30, 2024)
7. Larry Jackson (June 30, 2024)
8. Monica Postlethwaite (June 30, 2023)
9. Jubal Allison (June 30, 2023)

Mayor Terry Weickum thanked the board for their “hard work,” saying it is appreciated.

Previous articlePublic hearing on illuminated Base Camp sign slated for tomorrow
Next articleRawlins City Council approves second reading of recycling rate increase


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here